Go to Top

Who Is a Part of the Paris Climate Agreement

The Paris Climate Agreement, also known as the Paris Agreement, is an international treaty signed by 196 parties (countries and the European Union) that aims to combat climate change and its negative impacts. The Agreement was adopted on 12 December 2015, at the 21st Conference of the Parties (COP 21) of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) held in Paris, France.

The Paris Agreement sets out a long-term goal of keeping the global average temperature rise below 2 degrees Celsius above pre-industrial levels, and pursuing efforts to limit the temperature increase to 1.5 degrees Celsius. The Agreement also requires all parties to submit their nationally determined contributions (NDCs) to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and to enhance their efforts over time.

So, who is a part of the Paris Climate Agreement?

As mentioned earlier, the Paris Agreement has been signed by 196 parties, including 195 countries and the European Union. All parties are required to submit their NDCs and report on their progress towards achieving their targets. This includes developed countries that have historically contributed more to greenhouse gas emissions and have a greater capacity to finance the necessary transition to a low-carbon economy, as well as developing countries that are more vulnerable to the adverse effects of climate change.

The United States was a part of the Paris Climate Agreement when it was signed in 2015. However, in 2017, then-President Donald Trump announced his intention to withdraw the country from the agreement, citing concerns over the potential impact on the economy. The withdrawal process took effect on 4 November 2020, one day after the U.S. presidential election, in which Joe Biden was elected.

On his first day in office, President Biden signed an executive order to rejoin the Paris Climate Agreement, making the United States a party to the Agreement once again. With the U.S. back in the Agreement, more than 80% of global greenhouse gas emissions are now covered by NDCs.

Other notable parties to the Paris Climate Agreement include China, the world`s largest greenhouse gas emitter, and India, the third-largest emitter. Many European countries, including France, Germany, and the United Kingdom, are also parties to the Agreement, as well as small island nations that are particularly vulnerable to the impacts of climate change.

In conclusion, the Paris Climate Agreement is a critical international treaty aimed at addressing the global challenge of climate change. The Agreement has been signed by 196 parties, including 195 countries and the European Union, with the United States recently rejoining as a party. The participation of all parties, including developed and developing countries, is essential to achieving the goals set out in the Agreement and ensuring a sustainable future for all.

Cookie-Einwilligung mit Real Cookie Banner